RSS Feed

ONG Column Winner

Kindra Coffman

September 2017 Column Winner
Aiming for the splits

ONG Editorial Winner

Kaylea Hutson-Miller

September 2017 Editorial Winner

  • Be recognized for your work in OPA's Better Newspaper Contest

    It's time to be honored for your great work in the past year! The 2017 OPA Better Newspaper Contest is now open for entries!

    For the first time, the contest features online entry and new categories to recognize both newspapers and individual staff members. Most of the previous categories remain; the Awards Committee added some new ones to specifically recognize writers, photographers, advertising staff and designers.

    Upload PDFs of your newspaper pages at When you first login, the password will be "bnc" and there is one account per newspaper. The deadline for entries is February 12, 2018, which will be here before we know it. So start collecting and uploading your entries now!   

    » Review the contest rules, categories and circulation divisions

    » Download a step-by-step guide to uploading entries


    All systems are go at the OPA -- phones working, email working, internet connected. We're back in touch with you!

  • November Oklahoma Publisher available for download

    The November issue of The Oklahoma Publisher is available for download. In this month's issue, read about new laws of interest to newspapers, deadline for Hall of Fame nominations and the surprise guest at the Sapulpa Daily Herald.
    To download the November issue, click here.

  • Memorial Service for Ray Lokey on Nov. 18

    The memorial service for Ray Lokey, owner and publisher of the Johnston County Capital-Democrat and a past president of the OPA, will be held this Saturday, Nov. 18 at 2 p.m. in Fletcher Auditorium on the campus of Murray State College in Tishomingo.  

    View maps of the college campus here.
    FLETCHER AUDITORIUM is at the intersection of E. 24th Street and Murray Drive (also named Dormitory Rd.). Parking is available on the north and south sides of the building. If you're driving from I-35 South, enter Tishomingo on Main Street, turn south (right) onto Byrd Street, travel 3/4 mile, turn west (right) onto E. 24th Street.

  • Internship Applications now available

    In the past 10 years more than 200 college students have interned at Oklahoma newspapers with their salaries funded by the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation, the non-profit affiliate of the OPA. 

    Applications for the 2018 paid summer internship program are now available. The deadline for host newspaper applications is Jan. 12, 2018, and student applications are due Feb. 19. The program is made possible by a grant from the Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation. 

    » Download internship applications:

  • October Publisher available for download

    The October issue of The Oklahoma Publisher is in the mail. If you can't wait, click the link below to download a PDF version. This month includes the final five ONF summer intern stories; Dr. Terry Clark's thoughts of what it takes to be a good journalist, and much more.
    To download the October issue, click here. 

  • OPA Members enjoy national convention in Tulsa

    The National Newspaper Association held its annual convention and trade show in Tulsa
    Oct. 5-7. More than 20 Oklahoma newspaper managers attended to gather revenue ideas and vendor information, to learn from their peers and to visit the Philbrook Museum.



  • Service for Steve Booher Set for Oct. 3 at 10 a.m.

         Steve W. Booher, retired publisher of the Cherokee Messenger & Republican, died Sept. 29, 2017. He was 69.
         A Celebration of Life Service will be held at 10 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 3, at Oakwood Christian Church, 401 N. Oakwood Road in Enid, Okla.
         Booher led the Messenger & Republican from 1980 to 2001 as general manager, then continued as publisher until his retirement in 2014. Prior to that he served as general manager of the Fairview Republican, managing editor of the Clinton Daily News, and reporter for the Duncan Banner.
         After more than 40 years in the newspaper business, he was inducted into the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame in April 2017.  
         Booher was president of the Oklahoma Press Association in 2008-2009 and president of the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation from 2012 to 2014. He received ONF's Beachy Musselman Award in 2009 in recognition of his quality journalism and service to the local community.

  • National Newspaper Week Oct. 1-7

    Remind your community of the importance of newspapers during National Newspaper Week. If you need editorials, columns, cartoons or house ads, Newspaper Association Managers has an entire collection. OPA members are invited to download the material at

  • September Publisher available for download

    The September issue of The Oklahoma Publisher is available for download. Read about The O'Colly partnering with the Stillwater News Press; Part II of the ONF Summer Interns' stories; and a reminder that it's time to file your Statement of Ownership with the US Postal Service. 

    To download the September issue, click here. 

RSS Feed