Beachy Musselman Award

Beachy MusselmanPresented annually by the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation, the Beachy Musselman Award recognizes a journalist for his or her contribution to the field of printed journalism or its related field.

The recipient of the award, who is selected by the ONF Board of Trustees, receives a plaque and recognition at the annual OPA Convention.

The award, established in 1969 to recognize and encourage quality journalism in practice, education and research, is named after the late Norman Beachy Musselman, former editor and general manager of the Shawnee News-Star. Musselman also served as president of the Oklahoma Press Association in 1961.

Any professional journalist is eligible for nomination. Extra consideration is given on the basis of service to the community, initiative in reporting, photographing or interpreting the news. Nominations for reporters and editors are encouraged.


Nominations, which may be made by anyone, must include biographical information showing work in the newspaper industry or related field and reasons you believe the person is deserving of the award. Additional information may be requested by the ONF Board of Trustees.

Submit nominations and accompanying information via email to or upload at When submitting online, the Division is "Special Awards" and the category is "ONF Beachy Musselman Award."

Nominations are due by February 3, 2020. 
The award will be presented at the OPA Annual Convention, June 19-20, 2020.




Norman Beachy Musselman was born July 17, 1897, in Falls City, Neb., graduated from the University of Nebraska in 1918 and did graduate work at the University of Kansas in 1920 and 1921. From 1922-23, he was city editor of the Arkansas City Daily News in Kansas and, from 1924 to 1942, served as advertising manager of the Arkansas City Traveler.

He was editor and general manager of the Shawnee News-Star from 1945 until his death on Aug. 6, 1963. A few months after his death, his widow, the late Ruth Musselman, asked OPA to administer a Norman Beachy Musselman Memorial Fund. The memorial contribution proved to be the catalyst needed to establish the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation (ONF). The first contribution to the foundation was the Norman Beachy Musselman Memorial Fund. ONF was established to serve as a trust for donations of money, securities or other property.

Musselman was a consistent winner of editorial writing awards and his columns, "Beachnuts and Newsbeams," also won many awards. He was a founding member of the American Legion, joining other veterans to form the new organization after serving as a signal corps aviator in World War I.

Musselman served as president of the Oklahoma Press Association in 1961, which coincided with building and moving into the OPA office building at 3601 N. Lincoln Blvd. in Oklahoma City. 


2019    Rusty Ferguson, Publisher, The Cleveland American
2018    Jeff Mullin, Columnist, Enid News & Eagle
2017    James Beaty, Managing Editor, McAlester News-Capital
2016    Andy Rieger, Retired Editor, The Norman Transcript
2015    Julie DelCour, Tulsa World
2014    Gloria Trotter, The Countywide & Sun
2013    Ed Darling, Publisher, The Duncan Banner
2012    Joan Gilmore, Columnist, The Journal Record
2010    Nolan Clay, Reporter, The Oklahoman
2009    Joe Worley, Executive Editor, Tulsa World
2008    Steve Booher, Publisher, Cherokee Messenger & Republican
2007    Ray Lokey, Publisher, Johnston County Capital-Democrat
2006    Louise Abercrombie, Business Editor, Ponca City News
2005    Barbara A. Walter, Publisher, Hennessey Clipper
2004    Dr. Terry M. Clark, Director, Department of Mass Communications,
            University of Central Oklahoma
2003    J.B. Blosser Bittner, Managing Editor, Woodward News
2002    Gary Reid, Publisher, Kingfisher Times & Free Press
2001    Jim & Becky Mayo, Publishers, Sequoyah County Times
2000    Wayne Trotter, Publisher, Shawnee Sun
1999    Jack Lancaster, Newsroom Adviser, OSU Daily O’Collegian
1998    David Fallis, Investigative Reporter, Tulsa World
1997    J. Leland Gourley, Publisher, OKC Friday
1996    Terry Hoggatt, Managing Editor, Cushing Daily Citizen
1995    Alex Adwan, Senior Editor, Tulsa World
1994    Dave Story, Publisher, Claremore Progress
1993    John & Faith Wylie, Publishers, Oologah Lake Leader
1992    Bob Lobsinger, Publisher, Newkirk Herald-Journal
1991    Ed Montgomery, Editorial Page Editor, Norman Transcript
1990    Mary Goddard, Assistant City Editor, The Daily Oklahoman
1989    Carter Bradley, OPA Capitol News Bureau
1988    O.B. Campbell, Publisher, Vinita Journal
1987    Ralph Sewell, OPA Capitol News Bureau
1986    Sharon Wright, Political Reporter, Stillwater NewsPress
1985    Beth Macklin, Religion Editor, Tulsa World
1984    Patricia Miller, Journalism Teacher, Putnam City West High School (OKC)
1983    Ed Burchfiel, Publisher, Cordell Beacon
1982    Joseph E. Howell, Reporter, Tulsa Tribune
1981    Dr. Harry Heath, Director, School of Journalism, Oklahoma State University
1980    Dr. Ernest F. Larkin, Professor of Journalism, University of Oklahoma
1979    Callaway Buckley, Executive Editor, Duncan Banner
1978    John Young, Executive Editor, Sapulpa Herald
1977    Jane Glenn, Reporter, Norman Transcript
1976    Robby Trammell, Editor, Seminole Producer
1975    Pete Crow, Publisher, Grove Sun
1974    Jack A. Reese, Executive Editor, Norman Transcript
1973    Jack Stone, Managing Editor, Anadarko News
1972    Jack Taylor, Investigative Reporter, Daily Oklahoman
1971    Travis Walsh, Managing Editor, Tulsa World
1970    Harry Culver, Chief Reporter, United Press International
1969    Dr. Walt Ward, Associate Professor of Journalism, Oklahoma State University

Contact Information

3601 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 499-0020
(888) 815-2672

Toll-Free in OK