Congratulations to the OPA Award Winners

The Oklahoma Press Association presented its Better Newspaper Contest Awards during the OPA Annual Convention, June 15-16, at the Grand Casino Hotel & Resort in Shawnee.

Also announced during the two-day convention were the recipients of the OPA H. Milt Phillips Award and the Oklahoma Newspaper Foundation’s Beachy Musselman Award. Jeff Mayo, publisher of seven Oklahoma newspapers, received the Milt Phillips Award. Jeff Mullin, who has worked at the Enid News & Eagle for 41 years, was the recipient of the Beachy Musselman Award.

In the daily divisions, winners of this year’s Sequoyah Awards in the OPA Better Newspaper Contest were The Norman Transcript, Weatherford Daily News and The Journal Record. Sequoyah winners in the weekly divisions were The Purcell Register, Wagoner County American-Tribune, Midwest City Beacon, Tri-County Herald in Meeker and The Edmond Sun. The Oklahoma Daily at the University of Oklahoma was the winner in the college division.

To view all the winners in the 2017 Better Newspaper Contest go to