February 2016 Column Winner

A surprise Valentine
Brian Blansett, Tri-County Herald

Dianna liked yellow daffodils, so we planted a few dozen in remembrance the autumn after she died.
They’re mixed with some red tulips under an oak tree at the end of the driveway, kind of close to the creek.
Last year, they bloomed in mid-March and I noticed the other day that the shoots were a good four, maybe five inches tall.
Might bloom a little earlier this year, I thought.
She also liked red carnations and roses, but I planted daffodils because they bloom when there’s not much else in the world that’s colorful.
It’s nice to walk to the mailbox when they’re blooming and pause for a moment or two.
The blossoms seem to glow after the gray months of winter.
Sunday was Valentine’s Day, which tends to be just another day now.
Back in grade school, we had Valentine’s Day parties in class and we used to pay attention to see if one of the girls might give someone a little bigger Valentine or one with a longer note than the ones for everyone else.
Such is romance in the fifth grade.
I used to buy Dianna two Valentines every year. One would have meaningful verse and maybe some lace.
The other would be to make her laugh.
She would write a long note to me, sometimes in a Valentine and, after she got sick, sometimes on note paper that she put in a plain envelope.
I still have them.
A few years ago, we found the journal that daughter Brittany kept as a second grader when we dwelled among the Texans.
Dianna thought it was great reading until she got to February and read:
“My dad got my mom some candy in a red coffee cup that said ‘You little devil, you.’”
Dianna wanted to look up the long-forgotten teacher’s phone number and explain, but I convinced her that she probably hadn’t given it a second thought.
Sunday morning, I got up a little later than usual, fed the turkeys and got ready for church.
When I backed out and headed down the driveway, I had to stop and look twice.
Waving at me from under the oak tree – as if it had spontaneously burst into bloom – was a single bright, butter-yellow daffodil.
It was the best Valentine surprise ever.

125 comments (Add your own)

1. Ellshassy wrote:
Kamagra Oral Jelly Buono Alli Weight Loss In Stock canadian pharmacy cialis 20mg Levitra Soft Tabs Xenical Orlistat 60mg

Mon, June 4, 2018 @ 1:01 PM

2. SorokinaEnnafa1996unsub wrote:
f588 visit our site cialis 10mg

[url=http://cialiskkqq.com/]cialis 5 mg comprim[/url]
cialis como toma

cialis rezeptfrei spanie

Tue, January 22, 2019 @ 2:31 PM

3. AndreevDionis97unsub wrote:
11ab pfizer india viagra precio

[url=http://viagrayql.com/]riteaid price of viagra[/url]
viagra cialis for sale canada

viagra ecstasy tablets pills

Thu, January 31, 2019 @ 8:12 PM

4. BolshakovErnst1993unsub wrote:
discount is canada at

3c7e usa prescription is no

Mon, February 4, 2019 @ 3:18 AM

5. BolshakovErnst1993unsub wrote:
vegetal is 600mg

3c7e perscriptions usa no is

Mon, February 4, 2019 @ 6:36 AM

6. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 9, 2019 @ 9:36 AM

7. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 9, 2019 @ 1:42 PM

8. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, March 10, 2019 @ 4:33 AM

9. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, March 10, 2019 @ 7:01 AM

10. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, March 10, 2019 @ 11:47 AM

11. cialis_canada wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 11, 2019 @ 11:59 PM

12. cialis_canada wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 13, 2019 @ 4:08 PM

13. generic wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 13, 2019 @ 5:46 PM

14. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 13, 2019 @ 6:59 PM

15. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 12:43 PM

16. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 5:44 PM

17. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 11:30 PM

18. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 16, 2019 @ 12:55 AM

19. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 16, 2019 @ 9:17 AM

20. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 16, 2019 @ 2:32 PM

21. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 16, 2019 @ 7:58 PM

22. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 18, 2019 @ 2:31 AM

23. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 18, 2019 @ 3:35 AM

24. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 18, 2019 @ 1:46 PM

25. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 18, 2019 @ 3:43 PM

26. for wrote:
Hello!

Tue, March 19, 2019 @ 4:27 PM

27. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Tue, March 19, 2019 @ 6:10 PM

28. viagra_professional wrote:
Hello!

Tue, March 19, 2019 @ 8:42 PM

29. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 6:18 AM

30. generic wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 12:38 PM

31. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 12:38 PM

32. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 10:01 PM

33. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Tue, March 26, 2019 @ 8:07 AM

34. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 27, 2019 @ 10:29 PM

35. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 28, 2019 @ 2:17 AM

36. super wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 30, 2019 @ 1:31 AM

37. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 30, 2019 @ 7:55 AM

38. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 2, 2019 @ 8:09 PM

39. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 4, 2019 @ 3:25 AM

40. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 4, 2019 @ 4:22 AM

41. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 4, 2019 @ 10:18 PM

42. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 5, 2019 @ 8:14 AM

43. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 5, 2019 @ 4:31 PM

44. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 5, 2019 @ 11:13 PM

45. viagra_india wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 7, 2019 @ 6:23 AM

46. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 7, 2019 @ 3:23 PM

47. canadian_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 8, 2019 @ 10:57 AM

48. delivery wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 9, 2019 @ 2:48 PM

49. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 9, 2019 @ 7:57 PM

50. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, April 10, 2019 @ 5:00 AM

51. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sat, April 13, 2019 @ 11:32 AM

52. viagra_coupon wrote:
Hello!

Sat, April 13, 2019 @ 6:12 PM

53. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sat, April 13, 2019 @ 11:29 PM

54. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 14, 2019 @ 10:18 AM

55. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 15, 2019 @ 1:06 AM

56. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 16, 2019 @ 8:55 PM

57. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 18, 2019 @ 6:54 AM

58. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 19, 2019 @ 11:40 AM

59. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 22, 2019 @ 4:45 PM

60. viagra_india wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 22, 2019 @ 9:04 PM

61. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 23, 2019 @ 7:15 AM

62. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 23, 2019 @ 9:41 AM

63. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 23, 2019 @ 11:43 PM

64. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, April 24, 2019 @ 1:25 AM

65. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 26, 2019 @ 1:10 PM

66. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 26, 2019 @ 4:28 PM

67. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 1:02 AM

68. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 2:15 AM

69. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

70. online_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 11:05 PM

71. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 29, 2019 @ 12:48 AM

72. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 30, 2019 @ 4:40 AM

73. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 1, 2019 @ 11:10 AM

74. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 1, 2019 @ 6:05 PM

75. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 2, 2019 @ 6:27 PM

76. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 2, 2019 @ 7:33 PM

77. discount_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 3, 2019 @ 2:04 AM

78. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 3, 2019 @ 2:17 AM

79. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 4, 2019 @ 11:43 AM

80. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 4, 2019 @ 12:25 PM

81. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 4, 2019 @ 9:18 PM

82. viagra_buy wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 4, 2019 @ 11:20 PM

83. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 5, 2019 @ 12:14 AM

84. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, May 6, 2019 @ 8:21 AM

85. cialis_generic wrote:
Hello!

Mon, May 6, 2019 @ 7:40 PM

86. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, May 7, 2019 @ 2:41 PM

87. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Tue, May 7, 2019 @ 9:01 PM

88. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 8, 2019 @ 12:28 PM

89. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 9, 2019 @ 8:33 PM

90. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 12, 2019 @ 10:23 AM

91. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 12, 2019 @ 11:09 PM

92. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 16, 2019 @ 3:54 PM

93. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 17, 2019 @ 7:34 AM

94. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 18, 2019 @ 9:04 PM

95. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 18, 2019 @ 10:11 PM

96. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 18, 2019 @ 11:39 PM

97. generic wrote:
Hello!

Mon, May 20, 2019 @ 11:30 AM

98. online_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, May 21, 2019 @ 1:23 AM

99. online_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 23, 2019 @ 9:35 AM

100. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 24, 2019 @ 6:21 AM

101. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 25, 2019 @ 5:38 AM

102. wrote:
tadalafil apotek k24 [url=http://cialisps.com/]buy cealis online[/url] one a day tadalafil side effects

Sat, May 25, 2019 @ 3:53 PM

103. canadian_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 25, 2019 @ 7:04 PM

104. wrote:
regular use of sildenafil http://triviagra.com/ can i give my husband sildenafil generic viagra
without a doctor prescription viagra and eye floaters

Mon, May 27, 2019 @ 10:54 AM

105. wrote:
[url=http://viagrapid.com/]viagra pills[/url]

Mon, May 27, 2019 @ 4:18 PM

106. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 29, 2019 @ 2:43 AM

107. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 29, 2019 @ 9:38 AM

108. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 30, 2019 @ 1:32 AM

109. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 30, 2019 @ 10:32 AM

110. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 31, 2019 @ 7:54 PM

111. online_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 31, 2019 @ 11:02 PM

112. wrote:
what are some natural alternatives to viagra http://viagrabs.com/ buy sildenafil.
sildenafil herpes simplex.

Sat, June 1, 2019 @ 12:53 PM

113. wrote:
what happens when tadalafil expires http://cialislet.com/ cialis.

tadalafil inglese.

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 12:46 AM

114. wrote:
cialis te koop belgie [url=http://cialisles.com/]http://cialisles.com/[/url] tadalafil faz bem ao coração.

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 5:04 AM

115. wrote:
healthy meds sildenafil http://triviagra.com/ triviagra.com

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 5:56 AM

116. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 10:53 AM

117. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 5:39 PM

118. wrote:
effects of girl taking viagra http://viagragenupi.com/ what happens if
a 17 year old boy takes viagra.

Mon, June 3, 2019 @ 9:02 PM

119. super wrote:
Hello!

Tue, June 4, 2019 @ 3:25 PM

120. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, June 4, 2019 @ 8:19 PM

121. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, June 6, 2019 @ 2:51 AM

122. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, June 8, 2019 @ 4:45 PM

123. wrote:
sildenafil overdose youtube viagra tablets to
buy online http://www.viagrapid.com/ buy
viagra on line many grams sildenafil should take

Sun, June 9, 2019 @ 3:45 PM

124. wrote:
cialis be my baby [url=http://cialislet.com/]online cialis[/url] para que
sirve el tadalafil yahoo.

Tue, June 11, 2019 @ 2:53 AM

125. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, June 12, 2019 @ 12:36 PM

Add a New Comment


code
 

Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.