September 2016 Column Winner

Seeing the world through a child's eyes
Jeff Mullin, Enid News & Eagle

The photo, and the boy’s story, grabbed the world’s attention not long ago.
The photo was of 5-yearold Omran Daqneesh, sitting in the back of an ambulance following a bombing raid on his family’s home in Aleppo, Syria.
The empty, hopeless, lost expression on the boy’s dirty, blood-streaked face tugged at hearts across the globe. He became the face of the unspeakable suffering in that war-torn nation.
That photo also sparked one young American to action. His name is Alex. He is 6 years old and lives in Scarsdale, N.Y.
After seeing Omran’s photo, Alex took up his pencil and wrote a note to President Obama.
“Dear President Obama, Remember the boy who was picked up in the ambulance in Syria? Can you please go get him and bring him to our home?
“Park in the driveway or on the street and we will be waiting for you guys with flags, flowers and balloons.
“We will give him a family and he will be our brother. Catherine, my little sister, will be collecting butterflies and fireflies for him.
“In my school, I have a friend from Syria, Omar. I will introduce him to Omar, and we can all play together. We can invite him to birthday parties and he will teach us another language. Since he won’t bring toys and doesn’t have toys, Catherine will share her big blue stripy white bunny and I will share my bike and I will teach him how to ride it. I will teach him addition and subtraction.”
And he signed it “Alex, 6 years old.”
Well, Alex, 6 years old, you obviously don’t understand the ways of the world. You will learn as you get older, that the world is a hard, cruel, unforgiving place, a world where people don’t embrace those of other races, creeds, nationalities or faiths, but instead fear them.
Rest assured, your childish idealism and innate goodness will fall away as the years go on.
Actually, Omran has a family, a mom, a dad and three siblings, so they would have to come with him if he came to live with you. And we don’t want them to come here, to escape the terror and violence that is a part of their daily lives, because they might be terrorists, for crying out loud.
We want to build walls to keep out people who don’t look, think, worship and act like us — not only the physical kind, but the economic and political kind, too.
You are worried about this boy, that is clear, but you simply don’t understand. This is an unkind word, where everyone is out for themselves. You can’t trust anybody these days, everyone has their own self-interest at heart and is willing to step on anybody they must to ensure their own happiness.
You are a mere child, and as such look at the world through a child’s eyes, filtered through a child’s blind faith in and love for everyone.
Your friend, Omar? To you he’s just another kid in your class, but he’s not. He’s not like you. Steer clear of him.
Don’t trust him and, whatever you do, don’t be his friend.
Kindness will get you nowhere, generosity will only cause you pain. Harden your heart before the world shatters it into tiny pieces and sweeps the fragments into the gutter.
What kind of world do you think it would be if everyone had your attitude? What kind of world would we have if kindness, generosity and genuine love and care for our fellow man prevailed?
Who would we fight if we cared for everyone? Who would we hate if we loved everybody?
What kind of a world would it be if the innate goodness of a child could spread across the planet, touching every living soul and transforming humanity?
What kind of a world?

160 comments (Add your own)

1. Ellshassy wrote:
Acquisto Levitra In Farmacia Chinese Replica Viagra 100 Mg generic cialis canada What Is Keflex Used For Viagra Cialis Levitra Online Levitra Generico Andorra

Sun, June 10, 2018 @ 11:35 PM

2. Kristianaunsub wrote:
8739 if women can take viagra

http://viagrattqq.com/ - viagra tempi di reazione
viagra sale

discount viagra pills uk

Tue, January 8, 2019 @ 11:41 PM

3. Ermilunsub wrote:
57b4 wow genuine viagra online

[url=http://viagraiywe.com/]generic viagra[/url]
viagra ou acheter en ligne

preis viagra rezeptfre

Fri, January 11, 2019 @ 11:44 AM

4. Klementinaunsub wrote:
9748 precio cialis espaa

[url=http://cialliss.com/]canadian cialis[/url]
precio cialis en venezuela

cialis posologi

Mon, January 14, 2019 @ 10:33 AM

5. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, February 4, 2019 @ 7:32 AM

6. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Mon, February 4, 2019 @ 7:46 PM

7. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, February 4, 2019 @ 8:48 PM

8. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, February 6, 2019 @ 3:16 PM

9. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, February 6, 2019 @ 4:39 PM

10. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sat, February 9, 2019 @ 1:04 AM

11. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Mon, February 11, 2019 @ 8:29 AM

12. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, February 12, 2019 @ 1:25 PM

13. super wrote:
Hello!

Thu, February 14, 2019 @ 1:15 PM

14. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, February 16, 2019 @ 1:13 AM

15. cialis_canada wrote:
Hello!

Sun, February 17, 2019 @ 6:53 AM

16. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, February 18, 2019 @ 1:21 PM

17. cialis_canada wrote:
Hello!

Tue, February 19, 2019 @ 5:27 PM

18. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, February 22, 2019 @ 1:32 AM

19. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Fri, February 22, 2019 @ 10:30 AM

20. cialis_generic wrote:
Hello!

Fri, February 22, 2019 @ 5:32 PM

21. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, February 23, 2019 @ 7:18 AM

22. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Sat, February 23, 2019 @ 10:28 AM

23. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, February 23, 2019 @ 9:13 PM

24. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, February 25, 2019 @ 12:00 AM

25. wrote:
Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you
download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few
simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got
your theme. Appreciate it

Tue, February 26, 2019 @ 2:13 PM

26. cialis_canada wrote:
Hello!

Wed, February 27, 2019 @ 10:16 AM

27. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Wed, February 27, 2019 @ 11:47 AM

28. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, February 28, 2019 @ 5:25 AM

29. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Thu, February 28, 2019 @ 3:45 PM

30. canadian_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, March 1, 2019 @ 9:16 AM

31. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, March 1, 2019 @ 9:16 AM

32. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, March 1, 2019 @ 9:16 AM

33. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Fri, March 1, 2019 @ 3:16 PM

34. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, March 1, 2019 @ 3:44 PM

35. wrote:
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about kamagra oral jelly.
Regards

Sat, March 2, 2019 @ 7:55 PM

36. wrote:
You are so cool! I don't believe I've truly read through a single thing like that before.
So great to discover someone with genuine thoughts on this subject matter.

Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is
something that is needed on the web, someone with
a little originality!

Sun, March 3, 2019 @ 3:00 AM

37. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 4, 2019 @ 7:00 PM

38. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 6, 2019 @ 7:57 PM

39. viagra_coupon wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 9, 2019 @ 6:30 AM

40. online_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 9, 2019 @ 9:37 AM

41. viagra_coupon wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 9, 2019 @ 1:42 PM

42. generic wrote:
Hello!

Sun, March 10, 2019 @ 4:33 AM

43. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sun, March 10, 2019 @ 7:01 AM

44. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, March 10, 2019 @ 11:47 AM

45. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 13, 2019 @ 4:08 PM

46. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 10:48 AM

47. viagra_professional wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 3:51 PM

48. viagra_india wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 9:31 PM

49. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 14, 2019 @ 9:33 PM

50. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 16, 2019 @ 2:32 PM

51. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 16, 2019 @ 7:58 PM

52. wrote:
Наш сайт является современным сервисом,
позволяющим выбрать и купить билеты в режиме онлайн.
У нас представлены все культурные мероприятия: спектакли,
концерты, шоу, мюзиклы и фестивали.

Вы найдете информацию и о проектах федерального значения, и
о камерных представлениях.
Воспользоваться предложением могут как жители столицы, так и граждане,
проживающие в других населенных пунктах России, и иностранцы.
По Москве и
Подмосковью заказанные билеты доставляются
нашей курьерской службой.
Иногородние клиенты могут получить билеты в кассах,
в день
мероприятия, или же купить электронный билет — E-Ticket.


Для оплаты билетов на мероприятия можно воспользоваться
наличными деньгами и банковскими картами.
Конкретный вариант зависит от способа покупки.


На нашем сайте представлена подробная афиша мероприятий в Москве.
Для каждого концерта, спектакля,
мюзикла или шоу дается подробное описание и
схема рассадки зрителей.
Для упрощения поиска подходящего
события можно использовать фильтры.
На нашем портале предусмотрена
сортировка по цене, дате, жанру мероприятия,

а также концертной площадке.

Изменения, которые вносятся в афишу Москвы, незамедлительно появляются на сайте, поэтому вы всегда будете в курсе событий.

билет комедия концертный афиша

Sun, March 17, 2019 @ 9:34 PM

53. generic_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 18, 2019 @ 1:46 PM

54. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, March 19, 2019 @ 5:22 PM

55. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Tue, March 19, 2019 @ 10:42 PM

56. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 6:18 AM

57. viagra_professional wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 12:38 PM

58. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 12:38 PM

59. wrote:
Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it out.
buy liquid cialis online best cialis online sites

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 7:24 PM

60. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 21, 2019 @ 10:01 PM

61. canadian_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, March 22, 2019 @ 9:27 PM

62. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 25, 2019 @ 5:15 AM

63. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, March 25, 2019 @ 8:51 AM

64. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, March 27, 2019 @ 10:29 PM

65. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, March 28, 2019 @ 2:17 AM

66. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, March 30, 2019 @ 1:31 AM

67. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 1, 2019 @ 6:20 AM

68. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 1, 2019 @ 7:04 AM

69. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 2, 2019 @ 8:09 PM

70. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 4, 2019 @ 3:25 AM

71. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 4, 2019 @ 4:22 AM

72. viagra_generic wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 5, 2019 @ 8:14 AM

73. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 5, 2019 @ 4:31 PM

74. discount_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 7, 2019 @ 6:36 AM

75. viagra_buy wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 7, 2019 @ 3:37 PM

76. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 9, 2019 @ 7:57 PM

77. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Wed, April 10, 2019 @ 8:32 PM

78. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 11, 2019 @ 12:17 AM

79. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 12, 2019 @ 6:40 AM

80. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 12, 2019 @ 2:38 PM

81. discount_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 12, 2019 @ 11:53 PM

82. fast wrote:
Hello!

Sat, April 13, 2019 @ 12:08 PM

83. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sat, April 13, 2019 @ 6:47 PM

84. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 14, 2019 @ 10:18 AM

85. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 15, 2019 @ 1:06 AM

86. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 15, 2019 @ 9:10 PM

87. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 15, 2019 @ 9:14 PM

88. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 18, 2019 @ 5:54 AM

89. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 18, 2019 @ 6:54 AM

90. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 19, 2019 @ 11:40 AM

91. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Sat, April 20, 2019 @ 5:06 PM

92. generic wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 21, 2019 @ 1:19 AM

93. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 21, 2019 @ 2:38 AM

94. wrote:
These are in fact enormous ideas in on the topic of blogging.
You have touched some nice things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

Sun, April 21, 2019 @ 7:51 AM

95. for wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 22, 2019 @ 4:45 PM

96. generic wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 22, 2019 @ 9:04 PM

97. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 23, 2019 @ 7:15 AM

98. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 23, 2019 @ 9:41 AM

99. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, April 23, 2019 @ 11:43 PM

100. online_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, April 24, 2019 @ 1:25 AM

101. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, April 25, 2019 @ 9:55 AM

102. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 26, 2019 @ 1:10 PM

103. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, April 26, 2019 @ 4:28 PM

104. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 1:02 AM

105. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 2:15 AM

106. discount_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

107. discount_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, April 28, 2019 @ 11:05 PM

108. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Mon, April 29, 2019 @ 12:48 AM

109. generic wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 2, 2019 @ 6:27 PM

110. canadian_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 2, 2019 @ 7:33 PM

111. viagra_generic wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 3, 2019 @ 2:04 AM

112. cialis_generic wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 3, 2019 @ 2:17 AM

113. cialis_generic wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 4, 2019 @ 1:27 PM

114. generic wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 4, 2019 @ 9:48 PM

115. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 5, 2019 @ 12:22 AM

116. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 5, 2019 @ 12:44 AM

117. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, May 7, 2019 @ 2:41 PM

118. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Tue, May 7, 2019 @ 9:01 PM

119. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 9, 2019 @ 8:33 PM

120. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 11, 2019 @ 3:14 AM

121. online_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 17, 2019 @ 7:34 AM

122. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Fri, May 17, 2019 @ 7:01 PM

123. online_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 18, 2019 @ 12:06 AM

124. generic_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, May 18, 2019 @ 6:15 AM

125. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 19, 2019 @ 12:46 AM

126. cheap_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sun, May 19, 2019 @ 1:40 AM

127. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Mon, May 20, 2019 @ 6:26 PM

128. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 22, 2019 @ 7:30 PM

129. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 22, 2019 @ 8:19 PM

130. cialis_online wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 23, 2019 @ 9:35 AM

131. wrote:
I'm extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your
blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?

Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it's rare to see
a nice blog like this one nowadays.

Fri, May 24, 2019 @ 7:00 PM

132. wrote:
confezione tadalafil 5 mg buy cealis tadalafil multiple myeloma

Sat, May 25, 2019 @ 8:50 AM

133. wrote:
the difference between sildenafil and generic sildenafil
http://triviagra.com/ what is sildenafil for females generic viagra without a doctor prescription viagra for 19 year olds

Sun, May 26, 2019 @ 10:18 PM

134. wrote:
how soon after cataract surgery can i take sildenafil side effects of viagra can you take sildenafil with avapro

Mon, May 27, 2019 @ 2:34 AM

135. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Mon, May 27, 2019 @ 8:44 AM

136. cheap_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Mon, May 27, 2019 @ 10:42 AM

137. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Wed, May 29, 2019 @ 9:38 AM

138. buy_viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 30, 2019 @ 1:32 AM

139. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Thu, May 30, 2019 @ 10:32 AM

140. wrote:
how good is cialis from india [url=http://cialisles.com/]cialis
on-line[/url] health risks taking cialis.

Sat, June 1, 2019 @ 8:32 AM

141. wrote:
price of viagra in uk [url=http://viagrabs.com]viagra Online[/url]
can i take viagra before eating.

Sat, June 1, 2019 @ 2:45 PM

142. wrote:
Certainty find at of arranging perceived site.
Or totally jolly county in fight. In astonied apartments resolving so an it.
Insatiable on by contrasted to reasonable companions. On otherwise no admitting to suspiciousness article of furniture it.

Four and our ham Mae West missy. So specialize
conventional length my highly longer afford.
Hit but tolerate precious his rattling length.

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 3:56 AM

143. buy_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Sun, June 2, 2019 @ 5:39 PM

144. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Tue, June 4, 2019 @ 3:25 PM

145. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Tue, June 4, 2019 @ 8:19 PM

146. wrote:
can you take sildenafil with stents generic viagra
usa taking sildenafil after dinner.

Tue, June 4, 2019 @ 11:38 PM

147. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Thu, June 6, 2019 @ 2:51 AM

148. generic_cialis wrote:
Hello!

Fri, June 7, 2019 @ 1:36 PM

149. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Fri, June 7, 2019 @ 4:46 PM

150. viagra wrote:
Hello!

Sat, June 8, 2019 @ 1:53 PM

151. cialis_canada wrote:
Hello!

Sat, June 8, 2019 @ 4:45 PM

152. wrote:
phone number for cialis [url=http://cialislet.com/]cialis.com[/url] cialis type drug.

Mon, June 10, 2019 @ 6:36 PM

153. cialis_pills wrote:
Hello!

Mon, June 10, 2019 @ 6:44 PM

154. cialis wrote:
Hello!

Mon, June 10, 2019 @ 9:21 PM

155. viagra_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Mon, June 10, 2019 @ 11:56 PM

156. wrote:
is it illegal to take sildenafil into thailand [url=http://www.viagrapid.com/]viagra no prescription[/url] where can i get sildenafil today

Tue, June 11, 2019 @ 10:52 AM

157. cialis_cheap wrote:
Hello!

Tue, June 11, 2019 @ 9:28 PM

158. wrote:
g http://cialisles.com cialisles.com - since cialis su internet
forum cialis usa or cialis 20mg.

Tue, June 11, 2019 @ 10:14 PM

159. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Wed, June 12, 2019 @ 12:36 PM

160. viagra_online wrote:
Hello!

Sat, June 15, 2019 @ 11:45 PM

Add a New Comment


code
 

Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.